Hello, Again!

I apologize for my little hiatus, I traveled back to the Dark Ages—and by that I meant I was without Internet and cable for a few days. But good news, after what feels like a few days of torture, I’m back!Because I’m back, I decided to tackle an important (non-economic) issue today: voting. After all, voting is our most important civic duty. Whenever I think about JFK’s famous quote “ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country,” my mind goes directly to voting. Why? Not every individual is a public servant, so voting is one way normal citizens can help their country.

 

Exercising the right to vote is also vital to America, because without voting, we could not maintain the governing style outlined in the Constitution. Also, every American who is able should be grateful for their right to vote: what we sometimes take for granted in America, some people can’t even fathom having the right to do. So here’s a fun little infographic about voting participation.

 

Image

 

 

Who knew that women usually voted more than men? Is that because we’re more responsible, or because we had to fight for our suffrage rights? And the top reason for not voting? People claim they are “too busy,” when voting probably takes less than ten minutes. So, think about these statistics before you decide not to vote. Contrary to what some people believe, every vote does count, and remember on November 6, to go out and rock the vote! If you aren’t registered, not to worry: voter registration is super easy, so be sure to register before the deadline for November’s election.

One thought on “Hello, Again!

  1. Do you have any statistics on the percentage of the population for each of these groups? as turnout rate for a group doesn’t seem entirely relevant if you don’t know how large that group is.

Leave a comment