All Eyes on Charlotte

The time has come: the DNC is finally here. Yes, election year is in full swing. I can’t wait to hear what Mr. Biden and Mr. Obama have to say for themselves to increase their chances of being reelected in November. Something makes me think the Democrats will fix their focus on social, rather than economic issues. Why? Well, for one thing Mr. Obama’s economic policy hasn’t exactly proven effective. How can anyone call an 8.3% unemployment rate a success? And consumers are still feeling effects of an economic recession. Even further, does Mr. Obama even have answers for how to fix the current mess of the economy? If he does, I haven’t heard them yet, but maybe he’ll let us know what they are this week. Another reason I believe the Democrats will focus primarily on social issues is to appeal to key demographics, such as women and other groups who would potentially benefit greatly from their social stances. I look forward to hearing what all the Democrats will say this week (I’m also hoping for a few gaffes, but who isn’t?). What are your thoughts about the DNC this week? 

Leave a comment